Long Post made short

This was going to be longer, but as I wrote into the more off topic aspect of it, it turned into a disorganized rant, so now it’s all just the on topic stuff. You will hear my rant/thoughts at another time; it’s more fitting to be posted as the translation wraps up anyways. So here we go-

Alright, I’ll start off with this- I’m not looking for translators anymore. Why is this? Well, Tom has a lot of experience under his belt, and the quality of his translation is top notch. Having more translators would arguably speed up the process, but this way we reduce time needed to edit the script once the translation is complete. We also keep the translation more consistent. I have talked this over with Tom, and he wants to do the work on his own- this guarantees a solid, and consistent translation. The Japanese language, like most languages, it’s not a 1:1 translation (Hence why online translation tools usually suck). You can take one term and translate it 5 different ways. Now lets say you have 3 different translators and they translate things 3 different ways- that needs to be fixed. A good example of this can be seen in the fan based book translations. The ‘Blue Monster things’ as I will call them (if you’ve seen the anime, I think most groups called them Avatars, I don’t remember), there is, I believe, 2 different translations for them- Celestial and Avatars. Closed Spaces also have, I think, about 3 different translations between the different books. I had updated the contacts page to reflect that I wasn’t looking for translators anymore, but I didn’t have a post with it- so here it is.

Now, another thing I want to run over, when that image hits 100%- the translation isn’t done. It is very close to being done, and it probably won’t be much longer. But that image only reflects the script (which is 95%+ of the job). Though, there is a good chance that most of the other work that remains will be done before that hits 100%. Tom is trying to get the translation done in a timely manner, but remember- this is being done in free time for no profit 😛 So~~~

Here are some images for you, this post probably would have been up sooner if it wasn’t for me working on this video (this involved around 48+ hours of converting (thanks to my video editor not liking the video), so it was fun, also helped kill my computer’s PSU in the process).


Go to the site to watch it, I kept this one in HD 😛

I’m not gonna explain the video, the description says enough, here are the final cleaned and finished version of that image (different from where I end at in the video). This is the last of the major text heavy images to do (I believe), all that is left is smaller ones.

Alt text
Alt text

So, there are some images, the text is going, the last aspect is some hacking. The game isn’t 100% done with the ‘hacking’ aspect, there are some text limits and name limits that are being troublesome. It isn’t impossible to just split these, but there have been some issues still. But, there is more than enough time to deal with these as the script translation is what is going to take the most time/work right now.

Yes, I know this is taking a long time, but it can’t be helped really- If I could get a translation done and out in a week for you guys I would- but things don’t work like that x.x We are all working our hardest in our spare time we have to contribute to this project for you guys. 😛

~ by Zarradeth on February 7, 2010.

14 Responses to “Long Post made short”

  1. @Cocoa
    I am so sorry that it took me so long to approve your post (on the last article) and get back to you. I would have responded right away but I wanted to talk to Tom first. I hate to turn down your help, but that’s part of the reason why I made this post.

    Also,
    https://zarradeth.wordpress.com/an-overview-of-the-web-translator/
    That is how we are doing the translation, it was made by Soywiz for this translation. Though I do agree, I could see Google Docs being a good tool for translation. Depends on how you like to do things though~

  2. Keep up the good work. I’m waiting for you guys to finish so I can start translating into spanish.

  3. @Reaper

    Are you with Tales Translations? Because they are officially in charge of the Spanish translation.

    There’s the image for the Spanish one, though I expect it to move a bit more soonish~ I thought it would be closer to the English completion level. Either way, there is a Spanish translation being done by them. TBH, if it wasn’t for Tales Translations, the English translation wouldn’t be as far as it is 😛

  4. No problemo, just keep working at your own pace.

  5. thank you for working on the translation 😀

  6. Looking good so far, man. Keep it up. 🙂

  7. Yay for progress 🙂

  8. Hey, im new and may I ask a question? Do you need to download both patches for the game to be translated? Thanks a lot!

  9. the topics you chose are affected by how someone FELLS *feels* at that particular moment. Just a small typo I spotted.
    Sure you don’t need a tl checker? 😉

  10. *facepalm*

    Thanks for that aria, fixed it.

    @Nicholas
    The only patches that are out right now are suuuppppeeerrrr old. I think 90% of what’s in them has been redone. And neither of them are close to being complete. When the final patch is released it will be much nicer and easier to use than the old ones.

  11. Actually, the image translation template that I gave to Zarradeth says: “The topics you choose are affected by how someone feels at that particular moment.”

    Apparently, there were two typos in that edited image. The verb is “choose,” not “chose.”

    By the way, I finished translating another file today. I may go and see the Haruhi movie tomorrow. That may get me more excited about the translation.

  12. *whistles*

  13. Well, I have news… I saw the Haruhi movie, and Zarradeth, you would absolutely love it. The “vibe” present in the trailer that you posted is present throughout the film.

    I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  14. Hi zarradeth, I have just saw your reply, sorry xD
    Since yesterday I am translating with Tales using your work.

    I’ll catch that 47% level of translation that you guys have very soon xD

Leave a Reply

 
