Zarruhi… Updated! (a couple times- now with 125% more poll, images, and video)

Alright, now I’m rewriting the post, but I have plans for more updates to it with maybe another video and more images.
The original point of this post was because I was really tired at 2AM and had made up the name “Zarruhi” while talking to a friend online. I thought it had a nice ring, so I made a pointless post.
Thennnn, I decided to make this post into something, which is what he have here now.

First I’m gonna post up this link, I helped do image work on this, and helped the person working on it do some work retaining to PSP format files.
Soo, if you are interested, support this, if not, whatever– Kanon VN on the PSP

Now, before I get to images and videos and the such, here is a poll, I would like it if you guys voted on it, and if you want- make a comment (on this blog, not the poll website please)

I’m thinkin’ I should get a twitter, mainly for translation status… (I personally don’t use/like Twitter/facebook/myspace/etc. But I could see twitter being useful for small updates like this), what do you guys think? I could also use it to throw out anime recommendations, what I’m watching now, and little tidbits of random stuff…

I think a Twitter related to the project would help me stay on task more with it (me personally, that doesn’t effect translators), my personal choice is the second one πŸ˜›

Now onto the images, here are some of the Poker Help images that have been translated and cleaned. I will be posting TDOS ones later, after I do them.

The stars in the background of the TDOS images make them really really super easy to clean xD.

Right click the images and pick “View Image” to see the whole thing- wordpress is clipping them off.
And here is a video of me cleaning part of the first one, I thought it came out pretty cool πŸ˜› I wanna do another one for the first TDOS image, I wanna have it be the whole image cleaning.


Here is a youtube link if you prefer that http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDSp2DY4RLQ

Again, youtube for those of you who prefer it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duu7NSY2TF8

I recommend going to the site to view it, since the video will be physically larger. Also, as it says in the description, all the work in this video ended up being pointless because I copy pasted from the second help image, it was an easier clean job and came out looking better, so I stole it for the first.

As you’ll see the TDOS images are much easier, lots more clone stamp tool, lots less redrawing.

~ by Zarradeth on September 16, 2009.

45 Responses to “Zarruhi… Updated! (a couple times- now with 125% more poll, images, and video)”

  1. Keep up the great work! I think twitter is fine, as long as it relates to the translation project though. I think too much other stuff would be too distracting. However, you should focus on doing what you like, if you don’t like Twitter, then you really shouldn’t use it only for our sake. We know you are doing the best you can on the project with everything else going on. Don’t complicated it further and turn it into a chore, we want you to keep your interest in the project too. The most important thing is to have fun too right? =D

  2. keke, naw- I think twitter would help me keep on task with this kinda stuff πŸ˜› But maybe a few distractions aside (like anime recommendations or something), I would keep it on topic xD.

    I think twitter would be fun for this. I don’t like all those services because I feel like I shouldn’t put my life of for display for other people, they don’t need to know what happens in my day to day life (which is probably looking into things too much xD, it would be my choice whether I update it like that or not…). Yeah, it’s good for staying in touch (which I was I’m possibly considering a facebook)- but other than that, i dunno -.-

    Btw, I just recorded me cleaning about half the image in that screenshot in the article. I’m gonna use something to speed it up and then probably upload it to Vimeo :P. Then you guys can watch my wayyyy to perfectionist way of cleaning. I won’t say I’m the best, or good, but I try to make my images come out looking natural- I’m a quality whore. But with how long it’s taking Camtasia to create the video file- it might be a while. xD Plus, I’ll have to throw in some music since I didn’t record audio ’cause I was watching True Tears on my other monitor (which wasn’t recorded). Random japanese as background music doesn’t seem too interesting πŸ˜›

    Edit: Now that I look at it, I cleaned the 3 easiest things in the video xD. Ohh well, it will still go up xD

  3. Haha, yeah its true, I stopped using facebook because it started taking up way too much of my time, and it became sort of an obligation to keep updating and keep up with people, but it was good to stay in touch with friends. I know how you feel about the cleaning, when I’m editing a picture for something I end up wasting an hour just on little details and every single pixel, lol. Thanks again for your hard work, looking forward to it. =D

  4. heh, didn’t really think this one through all the way…

    40 minute, decently uncompressed video at 1080p…….
    138 gigs…..
    My recorder is frozen at this point (but it always does this when it saves large files… but I dunno how long it’s gonna take to save the whole file and respond again… x| ). Also, I dunno how easy it will be to work with a 138 gig file…

    Oh the joys of uncompressed video….

    Uhhhhhh, scrath the video. I’ll make a new one when I get to another image…. I’ve learnt my lesson on this one….

    I’ll probably make one for the first TDOS image I do, which I’ll do after I finish this Poker image. (The first image is the hardest because I can steal some stuff from the first ones on later images while cleaning.)

  5. Alright, I recorded the last cleaning bit on that poker image, but have been having barrels of fun getting to to work in stuff. So I’m encoding it atm into a more manageable format. But, let it be know I’ve finished an image (which I can steal from for others, making them go faster), and I’ll have a video eventually…

    Two images done (probably the hardest ones out of all the images in the game), one more in the Poker set to do. Currently encoding that video, not a final version, but the encode that will take the longest (downscaling and speeding up, taking about 4 hours). Will probably update the post tomorrow.

  6. LOL I thought you were dead or something, hahahaha.
    Well I think making a twitter account is a great idea to keep those updates, as well as talk about other things.

  7. -.-
    woke up to find that my computer had froze while encoding that video.
    Gahhhhhhh—- xD
    Now I gotta restart it, so I’m not sure when I can have it done. At least I don’t have to pay attention to it while it encodes…
    Well, back to more cleaning xD

    Poker help images are all done, those were probably the most difficult outta the all images to clean, but I’m not sure.
    Youtube version of the cleaning video is up, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDSp2DY4RLQ
    I’m gonna wait until the vimeo version is up until I update the post.

  8. Hmmm, I just realized the screenshots of the game in the help images have Japanese in them…

    Anything care? I can try and translate that if you guys want, it might be even easier to just screenshot the game once I have those menus translated and then use my own screenshot… I honestly wasn’t too worried about those screenshots though, but at the same time I didn’t pay much attention to them.

  9. Nah, it’s fine, just leave them as is. They aren’t a big deal, at least in my opinion.

    Do it later after you finish everything, get bored, and wanna do a 1.1 patch or something, hehe.

  10. I’m still here if you need help with Japanese to English translations. Just send me an email.

  11. Heh, I will sometime soon, the only thing is that Soywiz is on vacation in Japan right now. I think he might have occasional internet access, but he would need to make and add login info for you for the web translator. x|

  12. Oh, ok. That sounds good. I always have Mail running so I’ll see it πŸ˜‰

  13. For anyone curious and watching the comments ;)-

    I’m in touch with Vaiol123 and Soywiz is available πŸ˜›

    Also, I think I’m gonna change the theme for the the blog sometime later today- I like the layout, etc. of this one. But I don’t like how it has the fixed width for the columns, hence why it clips the images and stuff. I’ll try to find one that is similar to this one, and if I do I’ll switch it.

  14. Very nice! The project is moving along!
    As far as twitter is concerned, I personally don’t use it and don’t really see a point unless it were for tiny little updates or notes on the side of this blog or something…
    It just seems pointless to me. However in all honesty I don’t really care so long as you don’t turn it into only updating twitter and never this blog! Anyway yeah keep up the good work!

  15. Yeah, I don’t “personally” use twitter either, but WordPress does have a widget for twitter. I’m pretty sure it would show the most recent “tweet”, so I could add it to the sidebar under the percentage image.

    *****Changing the theme and stuff, aka under construction πŸ˜›
    Construction complete. It’s gonna take me a little while to get use to this different layout personally (comments link is at the title not the end x|), but I like it πŸ˜›

  16. woah. This site’s layout changed! I do have a minor issue with it, and that is, generally, after reading a post, I click on the comments to read them, but now the comments link is on the top.

  17. I did have a longer post about what I thought was pros and cons, but then I forgot to post it, and then I refreshed this page without posting it and I lost it all.

    Soooo, basically, yeah I don’t like that either. But I think the theme has more pros over the old than cons, personally.

  18. *can’t find the comment button*
    Oh yeah, it’s at the top of the article now.

    I guess the translation image is working. Tom is very busy atm, and in Japan. I sent him an email the other day and he is doing some work, but again, he’s very busy.

    Also, I haven’t really heard back from Vaiol123. I’m waiting for an email back from him… πŸ˜›

    Oh yeah, MOAR VOTES- but don’t vote twice πŸ˜‰
    Come on people, it’s too close xD.

  19. D: broken comments

  20. Heh, now I have to thank Tom (one of our translators).

    He caught 1 typo in each of those images (and now that he points them out- I see them too). Let’s see if you guys can find them xD.

  21. There’s one typo in each of the 3 images? I was only able to find one, in the second image the “thought” should be “though.”

  22. Nice work. What do you like most about this game personally?

  23. Opps, I lied there were 2 typos in the second poker help image.

    @Chen^2
    That is one of them πŸ˜›

    Here’s some “hints”- the second typo in the second image is actually still a word, so it may seem right, but it isn’t. And the other two typos in the other images probably lean more towards grammar errors πŸ˜›

    @yohan
    Geez xD That’s actually a somewhat difficult question.
    To be honest, I haven’t played the game much, and what I have played was mostly just skipping through Japanese text I couldn’t understand so that I could get CGs and stuff (but then kyohime gave us a 100% save file, which was a huge help/time saver). The poker mini game is one of the most… frustrating things I’ve ever played. I beat that game all the way through myself before I got the 100% save. It gets harder each stage, and by “harder” I mean- you get dealt crappier hands, and the other person gets dealt perfect hands. In all honestly, I wanted to beat Haruhi and every one of her friends with a brick. Umm, the TDOS minigame is interesting, not very deep, but what can you expect from a VN :P. Lastly, the beach volleyball game is pretty easy. xD Those aside it’s just a VN- which I honestly haven’t played much. To be honest, I don’t play many VNs. I’ve played Clannad, Chaos;Head, School Days, and Shuffle!. The only one I’ve ever completed an arc in has been Shuffle!, and I thought it was surprisingly short to be honest. The motion portraits for the more “one-on-one” scenes are at times a little creepily realistic. I’ve been testing them before and just watching them while they are doing nothing- the way that they breath and stuff- it can get a little weird xD.

    So uhhh, a long rant later, and still no answer to your question-
    I don’t think I know what I personally like about the game yet- I haven’t really been able to play the game for the sake of enjoyment and been able understand what’s going on. xD

  24. the character you’ve “chose”, watch closely “thought”, number of “winds”

    πŸ˜€ Do I get a cookie?

  25. Almost, there is one in the TDOS image too πŸ˜›
    The more I read it, the more “alright” it sounds πŸ˜›
    So this one might be tough.

    Edit: Actually, I don’t know if there really is anything grammatically incorrect with this one- if nobody points it out- I’ll just post it πŸ˜›
    And for the record, I do have a cookie lined up for whoever gets it πŸ˜› If nobody find the TDOS one, the cookie officially goes to AndrewYY πŸ˜›

  26. In TDOS, “When you’re ready battle will begin.” Should there be a comma between ready and battle?

  27. Or maybe instead of “to seek and destroy the invisible enemies” “to seek out and destroy the invisible enemies.” I know it’s not really an error but the second way just flows better.

  28. The first one was right πŸ˜›
    “When you’re ready, the battle will begin.”

    You and AndrewYY need to share the cookie πŸ™‚
    NSFW ~~

  29. hahaha, nice cookie. I’ll give AndrewYY the whole cookie if I get to keep the cookie holder ;p

  30. D: Suddenly the cookie doesn’t look that great anymore

  31. What, you don’t want the cookie? xD

    In other news, my CPU Heatsink is dying (Coolmaster V8), luckily it’s still under warranty, so I’m getting it replaced. But, until my RMA goes through, and I get a hold of my old heatsink, so I can take this one out to ship it off- I get the lovely sounds of a fan with a really bad bearing…. Geez, is it loud xD

    Hopefully the fan doesn’t die before I get my old stock heatsink to put back on for the time being.

    EDIT: I made this pic for a friend, demonstrating what my room sounds like. He laughed- I thought maybe some of you would too πŸ˜›
    I can’t wait to get this thing replaced xD
    http://i33.tinypic.com/5miyjl.png

  32. so… you have a very angry cat in your bed and a time-bomb in your closet?

  33. No, just a CPU Heatsink with a fan that has a bad bearing 😐

    Still waiting on my RMA- it’s still “pending”

    EDIT: The image shows the sound projecting through the room… 😐

  34. Hahaha, at first I thought the right side was your frantic clicking while doing the translation editing. Then I realized your desk’s on the other side xD

  35. This is what’s NOT suppose to happen when you try to remove a heatsink.

    Sorry about the bad quality, all I have is the camera on my phone.
    That’s my CPU physically STUCK to my heatsink.

    For the record, while trying to remove the heatsink- I physically pulled the CPU outta the socket on my motherboard, with the CPU’s retention arm still down….. I get the feeling I used too much thermal paste last time I repasted the CPU- as it was like super thick, almost dried Elmer’s glue….

    The good news is that my CPU still works, almost to my surprise πŸ˜‰

  36. the image! It’s gone! :O

  37. ? What image?

  38. The progress image was gone when I typed that…

  39. HURRAH, 30% MARK!

  40. I hope your translator can speed it up soon. It’s been like 0.1% increase once every few days (avg of course) for 2-3 months straight now, at this rate it’ll be 2+ more years before it reaches 100. T.T Maybe you need to push the translator harder (not too hard of course), how long can his Japanese vacation be? It’s been months now since it started (I was in Tokyo for 2 weeks in June, so I’ll be really jealous if he’s really there for months). Anyways, keep up the good work on your end and thanks again.

  41. Actually, he’s been back >.<
    It's not that he's lazy it's that he is busy. I might have something up my sleeve when it comes to translators though… we'll see. πŸ˜›

  42. Hi. I’m the translator. πŸ™‚

    And yeah, it’s not a vacation. It’s work. Basically, I leave for work at 6:30 AM, and I don’t get home until 7:00 PM. In order to get enough sleep, I have to go to bed at about 10 PM, or 11 PM at the latest. Considering the fact that I am sick now, I can’t push it. Given that I also need to make dinner, shower and clean, that leaves me only a couple hours of free time each day during the weekdays. That’s not just translation time. That’s ALL of my free time.

    I can only devote a few, sporadic hours, sometimes only minutes, here and there. However, I have had this project in the back of my mind all of the time, and recently I decided to focus on bumping up the percentage, even if it’s only slightly. That was without any prodding from Zarradeth, but rest assured that he has helped me to stay focused, for sure. I just want to keep it going steadily. Keep in mind that this is a big game. Even one percent of this game is a big leap.

    I apologize for the delays, but I can assure you that all of the translation that I have done so far is of the utmost quality. Zarradeth can back me up on that one. πŸ™‚

    Even if I can only bump up the percentage by 0.1 percent, I will.

  43. Tom, thank you so much for your hard work. All of us are VERY grateful for you, Zarradeth, and others in taking the time out of your busy lives to continue with this project in order for the rest of us to eventually enjoy this great game. I did not know your circumstances as the last update I heard you were in Japan and had sporadic internet access. You don’t need to apologize at all, it is I that need to, if I seemed a little impatient or unappreciative in my last post for everything you have done (I am not btw, I am very grateful). Don’t push yourself too hard though. Thank you again and I’m looking forward to it being done, I know it’ll be awesome.

  44. Just read my old comment again… damn I sounded like an ass. I apologize. xD

  45. Hey zarradeth, I’d just like to say THANK YOU VERY VERY VERY VERY MUCH for you and the translations work on this! Translating and editing them menus with photoshop is no easy task! I applaud and salute you guys. Thank you so much for putting all your effort to deliver to us a translation patch for the game *I’m almost in tears* haha. Thank you seriously, thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
