The Translation

Aight guys, as you’ve probably read at Babazoz’s site, I’m the new project leader. Babazoz said he was gonna stick around a bit still. But if you have any questions or anything direct them towards me. Here recently he has become extremely busy with real life and doesn’t have the time to properly try to handle this, so he asked if I wanted to take this and I accepted.

Now to get to the details. The reason the project has come to a damn near grinding halt is because we don’t have translators. The few we did seemed to have completely disappeared. So if anyone, and I mean damn near anyone with even a little bit of experience with Japanese, is interested please contact me! At the end of this post I’ll leave contact details. Please note, this doesn’t mean you can use google translate and turn what it spits into decent sounding sentences.

As for the problem with the word limit, that still exists. This game seems very random on how it does things and also seems to randomly crash when you change things, even when everything seems like it should work. I wouldn’t count on this ever being fixed, but I do have some new ideas I wanna try, but I seriously doubt any of them will work.

I obviously want this thing to get completed, but it can’t be done with translators. If I’m not able to get any, there isn’t much I can do. If you have friends, acquaintances, ect. that could contribute, please say something to them, point them in my direction. This is the problem that is holding this project back.

I’m willing to get in contact with you in various ways–
AIM- Zarradeth
Email- Zarradeth@gmail.com
Ventrilo- I host a 8-slot server on my own computer, I’ll give you details if you ask.
IRC- I don’t usually use IRC, I’m willing to use it upon request.
GTalk- Zarradeth, though I rarely use this too.
PM me at the forum.

You guys can use whatever you are most comfortable with. If you use the forums, please use a PM– this way I will get a notification email letting me know about it.

~ by Zarradeth on August 21, 2008.

18 Responses to “The Translation”

  1. gl&hf man =D

  2. I hope you will keep doing this ;D i cheer for you! ^_^
    I would love to help if i could but my experiences in the japanese language is on kindergarden level, heh.

    Good Luck!

  3. you can always pay a visit to any of the manga scanlation websites and their respective IRC channels and beg the translators for help.

  4. I’ve considered asking a scanlation group, but they’re usually busy with projects of their own. But it’d be worth a shot. I might give it a try. Thanks for the suggestion.

  5. Good luck to you.

  6. first good news for me in this whole month, thanks for brighten up my life . keep it going 😀

  7. Heya Zarra, don’t know if you remember me from IRC.. but I have a program which I use for Hentai Games so I can read them.
    It tranlates japanese to english in a good way but not perfect!

  8. Yeah I remember you from IRC, we should keep in contact some other way :D. glad to see you haven’t disappeared. Not to shot you down since I know you’re just trying to help. I’m guessing you are using AGTH combined with Atlas. Atlas sometimes does a decent job, but it still can’t match the quality of a real translation. I used Atlas to translate the more basic stuff in the BOOT.BIN file which really only contains names/locations/and basic informational messages. Most of them could have been guessed at even with out a translation :/. Thanks for the suggest though, every little bit helps. By the way, I bookmarked your site, I really liked the wallpapers you showed me 🙂 I’m gonna have to grab some when your redesign is finished 😀

  9. My little boy is all grown up…..*sniff*

    😉

  10. Now I don’t know if this is of any use, but there is already a Chinese translation of the game:

    http://psp.tgbus.com/down/game/cng/200805/20080531162441.shtml

    I’m not sure if they did anything with the character limit. What’s good is that you could potentially use Chinese translators too (kind of like what they do on Baka-Tsuki occasionally for some of the novels).

    I haven’t tried this patch yet, since it was actually a friend of mine who told me about this in the first place.

  11. Thanks for the tip, I’ll have to look into if they fixed the character limit or not. I should be able extract the script outta the chinese translated ISO just as easily as out of the still unpatched Japanese ISO.

    This will widen the range of translators I could use (even if only by a little :S)

  12. Hehe yeah thats true I use AGTH and Atlas 😉
    As if I could forget that wonderful project? 😀
    Still have patch 1 and 2 on my computer~ We really should stay in contact. But I only have msn, icq, xfire and irc

  13. Congrats Zarradeth on becoming the project leader. And thanks Babazoz for getting everything at where it is today! :thumbsup Ummm… but shouldn’t you guys keep the forums updated also? I made a new (kind of a late) topic on the alpha patch 0.2 but I think you guys should post there also since many check the forums also! Ok that being said, enough reading here… off you go to translate and hack asap the whole script and all! xD

    PS: Just joking… work on the Project as you see best! Sore ja!

  14. Well, some big stuff might be happening here soon. It all depends. 😛

  15. Actually, Baka-tsuki.net does a lot of random stuff, you can always try there too. i think they did the clannad visual novel translation so all you would need to do is submit all the text to them

  16. Now that was a big consideration, but there is a problem with that…

    http://www.baka-tsuki.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=936

    “5) The must important point, you MUST have a willing Translator who must register on this forum, and verify in a written post.”

  17. Thanks for keeping the project alive, despite the troubles.

  18. We don’t have a single translator? O_o that is pretty bad then. good luck though. may the force be with you

Leave a Reply

 
